Mathews out by strange rule, first time in cricket history

News Source

Daily Present Times

Sports Desk

News Editor

Eati Akter


Shakib Al Hasan was bowling the 25th over of the innings. Sri Lankan batsman Sadira Samarawickrama was dismissed on the second ball of his over.

The Lankan batsman went back to 41 runs with a catch by Mahmudullah Riyad. Then the Lankan middle order and experienced cricketer Angelo Mathews is supposed to take the strike down the wicket.

But perhaps Mathews entered the field with the wrong helmet. Due to which he could not wear the helmet on his head properly. Was trying to put the strap on again and again. He pointed to the dressing room, to fetch a new helmet. But by now 2 minutes have passed according to the rules. Shakib Al Hasan, captain of the Bangladesh team, appealed to the umpire for time out.

The umpire also saw that 2 minutes had passed after Samarawickrama was out, but the new batsman Mathews could not take guard to bat. As a result, this is the first application of a rule of cricket in a match. South African umpire Mariar Erasmus gave the finger with a timed out decision. After that, Mathews was seen discussing with the umpire for a while. Maybe at that time the umpire explained the law of cricket to Mathews. Mathews also approached Shakib Al Hasan to talk. Shakib advised him to speak to the umpire.

This rule is written in the Laws of Cricket (on the MCC website). Section 40.1.1 states, ‘After the fall of the wicket or the retirement of the batsman, the new batsman shall be ready to face the next ball within 3 minutes. If this condition is not met, the new batsman will be out. Timed out.’ However, in the ICC playing conditions in the World Cup, not 3 minutes, the batter must be ready to face the next ball within 2 minutes. Mathews could not be ready to bat in that time while changing his helmet. As a result, Umpire Marius Erasmus had no choice but to throw out Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan’s appeal and the law of cricket. Former Sri Lankan cricketer and ICC commentator in this match Russell Arnold immediately commented that this was the first time out incident in international cricket. In the 2006-07 Newlands Test, Sachin Tendulkar’s late entry to the crease was not called for by then South African captain Graeme Smith.

However, there are 6 examples of such outs in first-class cricket. Sri Lanka is also in extreme batting disaster due to the dismissal of Angelo Mathews. They lost 5 wickets out of 135 runs. However, Charith Ashalanka is playing by keeping one end. He has already completed half century. At the time of writing this report, Asha Lanka scored 52 runs off 57 balls. Dhananjaya De Silva is batting with 9 runs.

Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News Source

Daily Present Times

Sports Desk

Catagory News